Organisation of clinical audits in Switzerland

Steering committee: representing Swiss Societies

A steering committee was set up and began work in 2018. Its members are representatives of the Swiss Societies of Radiology (SSR), Radiation Oncology (SSRO), Nuclear Medicine (SSMN), Cardiology (SSC), Radiobiology and Medical Physics (SSRPM), the Swiss Association of Medical Radiology Technicians (ASTRM), the Swiss Medical Association (FMH) and the FOPH. Together they define the strategy and implementation of clinical audits based on the experience acquired during the pilot clinical audits (2015–17).

Committees of experts

Committees of experts have been set up for each of the specialties audited. They define the content of audits and advise the steering committee. There are currently four committees: cardiology, nuclear medicine, radiology and radiation oncology.


A pool of auditors has been specially trained to carry out clinical audits. These experts are doctors, medical physicists or radiographers/nurses working in the areas being audited (see committees of experts).

Scientific secretariat

The scientific secretariat is part of the FOPH (Federal Office of Public Health). It coordinates clinical audits and manages the project.


Roles and responsibilities

The responsibilities of each actor are set out in the collaboration agreement and in the organisational regulations (see documents).